Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board November Meeting 1:00 p.m. December 21, 2020 Online/Teleconferenced via WebEx Only due to Covid-19 Restrictions

Handouts provided for meeting:

• RCW 17.10 Draft Changes

S Meeting called to order at 1:01 p.m. by Chairman Tony Stadelman.

ROLL CALL:

Dour a memoers i resent via recour	Board	<i>Members</i>	Present	via	WebEx
------------------------------------	-------	----------------	---------	-----	-------

Tony Stadelman	Bill Agosta	Randy Johnson	
Jerry Hendrickson	Janet Spingath	Steven Seefeldt	
Dirk Veleke	Brad White	Jenifer Parsons	
Ken Bajema	Carey Caruso		

Others present via WebEx:

Mary Fee, WA State Noxious Weed Control Board Allen Evenson, Grant County Noxious Weed District Justin Bush, WA Invasive Species Council Cathy Lucero, Clallam County Noxious Weed Control Board Emily Stevenson, Skamania County Noxious Weed Control Board Joseph Shea, Skagit County Noxious Weed Control Board Scott Wilson, Whitman County Noxious Weed Control Board Geraldine Saw, Snohomish County Noxious Weed Control Board Sharon Sorby, Pend Orielle County Noxious Weed Control Board Jennifer Mendoza, Cowlitz County Noxious Weed Control Board Marc Eylar, Kittitas County Noxious Weed Control Board Larry Hudson, Okanogan County Noxious Weed Control Board Bill Wamsley, Lewis County Noxious Weed Control Board Ashley Arthur, King County Noxious Weed Control Board Cevin Tylar, Clark County Ralph Johnson, Department of Natural Resources Ray Willard, Washington State Department of Transportation Dave Heimer, Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife

DISCUSSION TOPICS

- RCW 17.10 Draft Changes Review- The board reviewed the tentative draft changes one section at a time.
 - Parcel definitions- Ray noted that interstate highways are federal owned. Ray sent out a follow-up email after the meeting regarding the ownership of the

highways in Washington State. The email clearified that WA State highways and interstate highways are owned and managed by WSDOT other than those highways traveling through Federal Forest Service or other Federal Lands.

Janet asked about rail road parcels. Marc stated that in Kittitas County, they are treated like private parcels.

- County Weed Board Members- Ken noted that he is in support of keeping the requirement of 4 county weed board members engaged in the primary production of agricultural products.
- Appointment of county board members- Randy suggested changing the period for 30 days to 60 days to allow county legislative authorities to appoint noxious weed control board members. Cathy also voiced support of this change.
- Special Assessment 17.10.240- Tony questioned the need to add county lands to this section. Cathy explained special benefit for state lands. It was noted that state, county, and other municipalities should be included. Ray noted the process for assessing WSDOT in each county.
- Owner's Duty to Control 17.10.140- It was noted that the 200 ft buffer along roads, rivers, and staging areas etc. needed to be put back into section c. It may have been removed via a typo.
- Randy expressed concern about allocating additional wok to the county assessors.
- Deactivation of County Noxious Weed Boards RCW 17.10.180- Dave questioned the definition of and/or regarding having no class A and/or class B noxious weeds within the county. Mary will get clarification on which word and/or would be appropriate here.

		0	
		Janet Spingath	Moved to accept and support the draft changes to RCW 17.10.
TE		Dirk Veleke	Seconded the motion
	04	The Board	All else in favor, no opposition, motion carried. Ken Bajema and Randy
			Johnson abstained.

Discussion- Dirk expressed concern about other entities being able to have input into the RCW and making unwarranted changes. Ken agreed with Dirk about the introduction of unwanted changes.

 \cap

• Education Specialist Position- Mary reported on the process and that the position is being reclassified with some minor changes. Tony reported on the hiring committee.

The board meeting adjourned at 2:01 p.m. by a motion by Bill Agosta, and seconded by Jerry Hendrickson. All in favor.

Tony Stadelman, Chairman WSNWCB

Dirk Veleke, Secretary WSNWCB

Mary Fee, Executive Secretary WSNWCB