Board committees

The Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board has committees that deal with budget, education, executive matters, legislative relations, public lands, special projects, weed management and strategic planning. The chairperson of the State Weed Board is an ex-officio on all committees except the Executive Committee, which they chair. The Executive Secretary is an ex-officio on all committees.
Inquiries about these committees can be directed to the Board’s staff.

The Noxious Weed Committee

The committee of greatest interest to citizens is the Noxious Weed Committee, which advises the Board on changes and additions to the state’s official weed list of invasive plant species.

The Noxious Weed Committee is composed of scientists and experts in invasive plant management and control. The Washington State Nursery and Landscape Association is also represented on the Committee.

The Noxious Weed Committee usually meets within the week before State Noxious Weed Control Board meetings in May, July and September, contact us for details about attending the meetings. Meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to propose changes or additions to the weed list. The Noxious Weed Committee can be contacted by emailing:


Tim Miller (Chair), Tony Stadelman, Jenifer Parsons, Rod Gilbert, Dave Heimer, Jane Wentworth, Bob Buzzo, Sarah Reichard, Marty Hudson, Steve Burke, Kevin Hupp, Greg Haubrich

The Budget Committee

This committee is involved in developing the Board's biennial general fund budget. The committee has also investigated alternative funding options for the Board and for other state agencies.

Sarah Cooke (Chair), Tony Stadelman, Butch Klaveano, Brad White

The Education Committee

The Education Committee helps set the educational priorities for the Board.

Jerry Hendrickson (Chair), Sarah Cooke, Tony Stadelman, Laurel Baldwin, Kevin Hupp

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is authorized to deal with housekeeping and personnel matters presented for approval at a Board meeting. With the approval of the Board, the chairperson appoints the Executive Committee.

Tony Stadelman, Sarah Cooke, Brad White

The Legislative Committee

Committee Members

Jim DeTro (Chair); Tony Stadelman, Kevin Hupp, Cathy Lucero, Rick Johnson, Mike Mackey, Anna Lyon, Butch Klaveano

The Public Lands Committee

The Public Lands Committee addresses issues dealing with state and federal lands in Washington. Activities include drafting memoranda of understanding with federal agencies such as the U.S. Forest Services.

Jim DeTro (Chair), Tony Stadelman, Dave Heimer, Mike Mackey, Anna Lyon

The Special Projects Committee

This committee makes funding recommendations for special projects of statewide benefit.

Greg Haubrich, Tony Stadelman, Bill Wamsley, Marty Hudson

The State Weed Management Committee

Committee members:

Greg Haubrich (Chair), Tony Stadelman, Jerry Hendrickson, Tim Miller, Jennifer Andreas, Dick Jacobson, Lisa Younger, Jenifer Parsons, Beki Shoemaker

The Strategic Planning Committee

Committee Members:

Tony Stadelman (Chair), Butch Klaveano, Dirk Veleke, Bob Roth